Black Ferns O’Reilly Cup squad announced

Black Ferns coaches have gone for consistency and experience in naming their 30-strong squad ahead of their upcoming O’Reilly Cup Test in Australia.

Talented lock Chelsea Bremner and competitive loose forward Lucy Jenkins have been named in their first Test squad for the 2024 season.

Experienced loosehead prop Phillipa Love, and hopeful debutant Atlanta Lolohea have once again earnt their call-up after providing injury cover during the Pacific Four Series.

Chiefs Manawa loose forward Mia Anderson is named in the Black Ferns squad for the first time, following a blockbusting Super Rugby Aupiki season and impressive showing in Black Ferns camps.

Anderson joins the side with the absence of Black Ferns Co-Captain Kennedy Simon, who has been sidelined with an ankle injury.

Black Ferns Director of Rugby Allan Bunting said consistency within the squad had made for a competitive selection process.

“We wanted to see consistency within our squad to prepare to face Australia, but also wanted to ensure those who missed out on the Pacific Four Series had their opportunity to put their best foot forward. We have a few injuries, but we have a competitive group of wāhine who are eager to step up and take ownership of the chance they are given,” Bunting said.

“We know that Australia will be continuing to adapt and improve with their new coaching group. We expect they will be well supported by their whānau and fans to deliver a strong performance in Brisbane. We are excited for that challenge and provides us with another Test to prepare ahead of our England Test and WXV1 tournament.”

The Black Ferns squad will assemble today in Auckland, before departing for Brisbane on Sunday ahead of their O’Reilly Cup Test against Australia on Sunday 14 July.

The Black Ferns

Loosehead Props – Aldora Itunu, Chryss Viliko, Phillipa Love

Hookers – Atlanta Lolohea, Georgia Ponsonby, Luka Connor

Tighthead props – Amy Rule, Tanya Kalounivale

Locks – Alana Bremner, Chelsea Bremner, Maama Mo’onia Vaipulu, Maiakawanakaulani Roos

Loose Forwards – Kaipo Olsen-Baker, Layla Sae, Liana Mikaele-Tu’u, Lucy Jenkins, Mia Anderson

Halfbacks – Iritana Hohaia, Maia Joseph

First Five-Eighths – Hannah King, Ruahei Demant

Midfield – Amy du Plessis, Grace Steinmetz, Logo-i-Pulotu Lemapu-Atai’i (Sylvia) Brunt, Monica Tagoai

Outside backs – Katelyn Vahakoolo, Mererangi Paul, Patricia Maliepo, Renee Holmes, Ruby Tui

Unavailable for selection – Awhina Tangen Wainohu (neck), Charmaine Smith (back), Grace Leaso Gago (neck), Kate Henwood (shoulder), Kennedy Simon (ankle), Marcelle Parkes (knee), Santo Taumata (knee), Sophie Fisher (neck).

According to the news on Radio New Zealand

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button